Home News Articles An Open Letter to the People of Saskatchewan

An Open Letter to the People of Saskatchewan

Friday, November 13, 2020

On behalf of the 34 undersigned associations, chambers of commerce, and economic development groups, as well as the tens of thousands of employers and employees we represent, we are jointly writing to express our strong support for the targeted approach the Government of Saskatchewan has taken to address rising case counts in localized ‘hotspots,’ including new mandatory mask requirements.

While we acknowledge some businesses will be significantly affected by today’s announcement, returning to a widespread, large-scale lockdown would be catastrophic to Saskatchewan jobs, Saskatchewan families, and on the immediate survivability of Saskatchewan businesses — even with new and extensive government intervention. The health, societal, and economic harm would have lasting, irreversible impacts.

We are calling on all Saskatchewan residents to follow the restrictions and guidelines set out by our public health experts. Do your part and be a good neighbour. We also support the proactive enforcement of these critical measures.

Last but not least: As we enter the holiday season, we ask Saskatchewan residents to support local businesses wherever possible. Many of these businesses are barely hanging on, and every little bit counts.

And above all else: Be kind to each other. We are all in this together.


Alex Fallon, President & CEO, Saskatoon Regional Economic Development Authority

Ashley Campbell, Executive Director, Concrete Saskatchewan

Beverly MacLeod, Executive Director, Association of Consulting Engineering Companies – Saskatchewan

Brent Fitzpatrick, Executive Director, Humboldt & District Chamber of Commerce

Cameron Choquette, Executive Director, Saskatchewan Landlord Association

David MacLean, Vice President, Saskatchewan & Alberta, Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters

Derek Lothian, President & CEO, Insurance Brokers Association of Saskatchewan

Elise Hildebrandt, CEO, Prince Albert & District Chamber of Commerce

Eric Anderson, Executive Director, Saskatchewan Industrial & Mining Suppliers Association Jackie Wall, Executive Director, Estevan Chamber of Commerce

Jaimie Malmgren, Executive Director, Prairie Sky Chamber of Commerce

Jason Aebig, CEO, Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce

Jason Yochim, CEO, Saskatchewan REALTORS Association

Jim Bence, President & CEO, Saskatchewan Hotel & Hospitality Association

John Hopkins, CEO, Regina & District Chamber of Commerce

John Lee, CEO, Economic Development Regina

Juanita Polegi, Executive Director, Yorkton Chamber of Commerce

Karen Low, President, Merit Contractors Association of Saskatchewan

Karla Wiens, CEO, Swift Current & District Chamber of Commerce

Keith Moen, Executive Director, NSBA

Kevin Martin, Executive Director, Kindersley & District Chamber of Commerce

Linda Machniak, Executive Director, Battlefords Chamber of Commerce

Lisa Suchlandt, Executive Director, Nipawin & District Chamber of Commerce

Marilyn Braun-Pollon, Vice President, Western Canada & Agri-business, Canadian Federation of Independent Business

Mark Cooper, President & CEO, Saskatchewan Construction Association

Pam Schwann, President, Saskatchewan Mining Association

Prabha Mitchell, CEO, WESK – Women Entrepreneurs of Saskatchewan

Rob Clark, CEO, Moose Jaw & District Chamber of Commerce

Serena Sjodin, Executive Director, Lloydminster Chamber of Commerce

Steve McLellan, CEO, Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce

Shantel Lipp, President, Saskatchewan Heavy Construction Association

Susan Ewart, President & CEO, Saskatchewan Trucking Association

Trevor Dignean, Administrator, Meadow Lake & District Chamber of Commerce

Twila Walkedan, Executive Director, Weyburn Chamber of Commerce

Back to News & Articles