Home News Articles WESK Summit Gala: WESK announces 13 women entrepreneurs as finalists for entrepreneur awards

WESK Summit Gala: WESK announces 13 women entrepreneurs as finalists for entrepreneur awards


Today, WESK announced the names of the 13 women entrepreneurs selected as finalists for its five women entrepreneur awards. The five award recipients will be announced at the WESK Summit Gala on Wednesday, May 19th, 2021 at a virtual event. The event will recognize outstanding Saskatchewan female business leaders in the following categories: Community Involvement, Indigenous Entrepreneur, Innovation, Resilience, as well as the esteemed Celebration of Achievement Award.

This year, WESK underwent a rebrand of its annual Awards Gala and Small Business Conference, and it is now referred to as the WESK Summit Gala and the WESK Summit. The WESK Summit Gala provides an opportunity to recognize outstanding female entrepreneurs with one of five entrepreneur awards, while also celebrating the achievements of all woman entrepreneurs in our province.

This year marks the fourth year of WESK’s Celebration of Achievement Award. This award pays tribute to an exceptional woman entrepreneur who has built a business in Saskatchewan of significant impact to the economy and the community. She is an inspirational leader and a role model for women in business. The finalists are: Janna Dutton (Dutton Group Tim Hortons) and Christine Hrudka (Pharmacy First).

The Community Involvement Award is presented to the Saskatchewan woman entrepreneur that has been a leader in creating ways of conducting business that have a positive impact on the community. The finalists are: Jennifer Denouden (Avana), Shaina Lynden (Ryde YXE Cycle Studios), Valerie Sluth (Praxis Consulting).

The Indigenous Entrepreneur Award is presented to the Indigenous Saskatchewan woman entrepreneur, which through a strong business concept shows plans for future growth and viability over the long term. The finalists are: Christine Marie (Awasis Boutique), Destinee Peter (Tangles Hair and Beauty Salon), Jennifer Dubois (Miyosiwin Salon Spa).

The Innovation Award is presented to the Saskatchewan entrepreneur that is pushing conventional boundaries and is disrupting and reshaping her industry through ground-breaking achievements in bringing innovation to market. The finalists are: Jennifer Denouden (Avana), Monique Simair (Maven Water and Environment), Serese Selanders (SolusGuard & ORA).

The Resilience Award is presented to the Saskatchewan woman entrepreneur who has shown strength and determination through COVID-19. She has shown an ability to pivot in response to unexpected and difficult challenges brought about by the pandemic, while continuing to maintain strong business operations. The finalists are: Jolene Watson (Clarity Coaching and Development), Heather Monaghan (Helping Hands Care Group), Shaina Lynden & Bradie Mustoe (Ryde YXE Cycle Studios).

The importance of recognizing women entrepreneurs is even more pronounced this year. The grit, perseverance, and determination of women entrepreneurs in our province, in this unprecedented year of risk and uncertainty is remarkable. Today, we honor and celebrate their resilience and success”

Prabha Mitchell, CEO of WESK

Associated Links

For more information:

Josie Fries, Marketing Advisor, WESK


About WESK

WESK is a non-profit, membership-based organization that provides business advisory; start-up, purchase and expansion lending; mentoring and networking and learning and training opportunities. WESK is supported by Western Economic Diversification Canada.

Back to News & Articles